The Fundamental Strive

GBS

It is in the most unexpected twists and turns of life that we find the true sense of our being. The ups in life make me realize that I’m thankful to God more than anything. I realize that even though I have no control over life and all that comes with it, I’m glad that the One who does control it, gave it to me and on certain days makes it feel so darn good. There are no such things as ‘little’ joys.  

The downs in life teach me lessons that I’d never learn any other way. This realization isn’t one of the best to come to, but it’s true. Sure, it’s easy to say it now, when I’m not in the middle of a depressing life situation, but when I look back at the ones I’ve had, I realize that I’m truly stronger because of the lessons I learned during the hard times.

I believe that a person’s true self comes out in the way they deal with an extreme situation. When great success shakes your hand, do you become proud or do you stay humble? If you find yourself amidst your worst nightmare, would you cower or gather all your strength to hold your ground? When you’re feeling defeated and let down, do you sink to the bottom or put on a brave front? When your world is shattered, do you want to give up and die, or do you efficaciously strive to keep the faith?

I’m a human, reacting to emotions in ways that often go against my better judgment. But, that doesn’t mean I’ll ever stop trying to one notch-up myself. So, I welcome all the twists and turns, remembering that the life’s not about them, they’re just reinforcement; it’s about using them to be a better, stronger woman.      

Leave a Reply

